Minneapolis Drug Possession Lawyer
Arrested for a Drug Crime in Minnesota? Call Us 24/7!
In Minnesota, drug possession is a serious criminal offense. Since
drug crimes are dealt with at both the state and federal level, penalties can range
in severity. A conviction may result in jail or prison time and fines.
If you have been accused of drug possession, it is crucial that you contact
a Minneapolis drug crime attorney immediately who can help fight your
charges and protect your rights.
Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. can put more than 100 years of experience
to work for you as soon as you give us a call. We are available to discuss
your case 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our lead attorney is a board
certified criminal law specialist, and both of our partners have experience
as former prosecutors, so you can rest easier knowing that your case is
in competent hands.
Contact Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. to see how our attorneys can help you.
First Degree Drug Possession
In the state of Minnesota, first degree drug possession is a felony offense.
If you are convicted of this crime, you could be sentenced to a maximum
of 30 years in prison and fined up to $1 million.
Marijuana: 100 kilograms or more
Cocaine, Heroin & Meth: 25 grams or more
Other Narcotics: 500 grams or more
Hallucinogens: 500 doses or more
Second Degree Drug Possession
Like first degree drug possession, second degree drug possession is also
a felony in Minnesota. If you are convicted of this crime, you could face
up to 25 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
Marijuana: 50 kilograms or more
Cocaine, Heroin & Meth: 6 grams or more
Other Narcotics: 50 grams or more
Hallucinogens: 100 doses or more
Third Degree Drug Possession
Third degree drug possession is also a felony offense in Minnesota. If
you are convicted of this crime, you could be sentenced to a maximum of
20 years in prison and fined up to $250,000.
Marijuana: 10 kilograms or more
Cocaine, Heroin & Meth: 3 grams or more
Other Narcotics: 10 grams or more
Hallucinogens: 5 doses or more
Fourth Degree Drug Possession
You could be charged with fourth degree possession if you possess up to
10 doses of a hallucinogen, or any amount of a Schedule I, II, or III
controlled substance (not including marijuana) with intent to sell. If
you are convicted, you could be sentenced to 15 years in prison and fined
up to $100,000.
Fifth Degree Drug Possession
If you are found to be in possession of any amount of a Schedule I, II,
III or IV drug, except for 42.5 grams of marijuana or less, you could
be charged with fifth degree drug possession. While this is the least
serious possession charge, you could still face up to 5 years in prison
and $10,000 in fines.
We Can Help You Fight Your Drug Charges in Minneapolis
With your future at stake, we urge you to call a Minneapolis drug crime
lawyer at our firm as soon as possible to begin building your defense. At
Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A., we can offer you a free consultation where we will review the facts of
your case and create a personalized plan of action for your defense. By
retaining aggressive advocacy from a team of lawyers with over 100 years
of collective experience, you will have a strong chance of possibly reducing
or eliminating your charges.
Contact our criminal defense attorneys 24/7 to
request your FREE case evaluation!