Minneapolis Manslaughter Attorney
Arrested for Manslaughter? We’re Available to Help 24/7.
If you have been charged with first or second degree manslaughter in Minnesota,
taking the right steps to protect your future will be crucial. If you
are convicted, you could face a lengthy prison sentence and tens of thousands
of dollars in fines. For this reason, you should waste no time in securing
the help of a Minneapolis criminal defense lawyer from our firm, Caplan
& Tamburino Law Firm, P.A.
Our criminal defense attorneys are available to discuss your case 24 hours
a day, 7 days a week, so please don’t wait to give us a call.
Your initial consultation is free and confidential.
Voluntary vs. Involuntary Manslaughter in Minnesota
Manslaughter is broadly defined as causing the death of another person
in a manner less culpable than murder. The distinction between murder
and manslaughter comes down to the person’s state of mind at the
time of the killing. For example, a homicide that was committed in the
“heat of passion” may not amount to murder in the eyes of
the law because of the individual’s state of mind.
In Minnesota, the law also distinguishes between voluntary and involuntary
manslaughter. With voluntary manslaughter, the perpetrator has intent
to cause death or serious injury; however, their culpability is reduced
because of their state of mind. On the other hand, involuntary manslaughter
involves unintentional death that is caused by a reckless disregard for
the safety of others.
Penalties for Manslaughter in the First Degree
Minnesota Statute § 609.20, if you are convicted of manslaughter in the first degree, you could be
sentenced to a maximum of 15 years in prison and/or fined up to $30,000.
You could be charged with manslaughter in the first degree if you:
- Cause the death of another person in the heat of passion following provocation
- Cause the death of another person as a result of committing misdemeanor assault
- Cause another person’s death after being coerced by threats of imminent death
- Cause another person’s death as a result of distributing a controlled substance
- Cause another person’s death as a result of malicious punishment
of a child
Penalties for Manslaughter in the Second Degree
Minnesota Statute § 609.205, if you are convicted of manslaughter in the second degree, you could
be sentenced to no more than 10 years in prison and/or fined up to $20,000.
You could be charged with manslaughter in the second degree if you:
- Cause the death of another person as a result of culpable negligence
- Negligently shoot another person believing they are a deer or other animal
- Cause the death of another person by setting a spring gun, pit fall, snare, etc.
- Cause another person’s death by permitting a dangerous animal to run free
- Cause the death of another person by neglecting or endangering a child
Call Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. for a Free Consult
If you are facing manslaughter charges in Minnesota, now is the time to
take action in the interest of your defense. Call the Minneapolis criminal
attorneys at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. to request your free,
no-obligation consultation. Not only do we possess more than a century
of collective legal experience, but we have successfully handled hundreds
of jury trials throughout the state.
After an arrest, we should be your first call. Here’s five reasons why:
- Both of our partners have worked as state prosecutors
- We are available to our clients 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
- We have been defending clients in Minneapolis since 1983
- We offer a FREE, no-obligation consultation to start your case
We’ve been selected to
Super Lawyers® for over a decade
Contact our firm today at (612) 444-5020 to take advantage of a free consultation.