Minneapolis DWI Lawyer
Board-Certified Criminal Law Specialists on Your Side
We are familiar with the questions you may be asking after being arrested
on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI). Our team at Caplan &
Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. is here to help you if you face drunk driving charges.
Our DWI lawyers handle a variety of drunk driving cases, including:
- Driving an automobile while intoxicated
- Boating while intoxicated
- Snowmobiling while intoxicated
- Operating an ATV while intoxicated
If you or someone you love has been arrested for any of these charges in
Minnesota, the penalties you could face are nothing to ignore. These penalties
may include heavy fines, jail time, license suspension, and possibly even
court-ordered installation of an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle.
Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. can help you by informing you of
your rights, helping you protect your interests, and giving you the advocacy
you need to pursue the best possible resolution. We are here to answer
your questions and make sure you feel confident about the direction of
Ready to fight your DWI charges?
Get Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. on your case!
New Law in Minnesota Has Lowered the Alcohol Limit
As of August 1, 2015, a law was passed to lower the blood alcohol concentration
threshold for enhanced charges. Drivers with elevated BAC levels of .16
or more will be charged with Gross Misdemeanors. This aggravating factor
poses more severe penalties, including a one-year loss of driver’s
license and up to one year in jail. Prior to this law, the aggravating
limit was .20. It is a clear indication that Minnesota authorities makes
DUI enforcement, and penalties, a priority.
Penalties for a First-Time DWI Offense in Minnesota
In Minnesota, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol
concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater. If your BAC is between .08% and
.16%, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
The penalties for a first-time DWI offense may include:
- Maximum 90-day jail sentence
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- 90 days of no driving privileges
- Ignition interlock device (IID)
If your alcohol concentration level exceeds 0.16%, you could be charged
with a gross misdemeanor. Penalties may include up to one year in jail,
$3,000 in fines, and one year of no driving privileges.
DWI & Enhanced Penalties
Minnesota is tough on DWIs that involve aggravating factors. Under state
law, you can face more serious charges, including
felonies in some cases, and enhanced penalties if certain aggravating circumstances
are involved in your case. These factors include:
- Prior DWIs
- Higher BAC levels
- Minor passengers
- Driving on a suspended license
- Accidents and property damage
- Accidents causing injury or death
With over 100 years of collective legal experience, our team has accumulated
the experience and insight to handle the full range of DWI charges, from
underage DWI andDWI drugs to
vehicular homicide. We also represent clients facing issues involving
license revocation, and
commercial driver's licenses.
Act Fast – Call Us 24/7 for a Free Consultation!
The truth is, disregarding criminal charges of any type will never yield
a good result. It is important to be proactive. After all, this is your
life and future at stake. Speaking with the
criminal defense attorneys at our firm, Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A., is a good
way to take ownership of your situation.
Our firm is uniquely qualified to assist you, and we are prepared to answer
your questions and provide the counsel you need. We have a long history of
success in handling DWI cases. Our Minneapolis DWI attorneys have more than 100 years of combined experience,
and we have handled hundreds of jury trials.
You can rely on us for tough defense during this pivotal time. Call Caplan
& Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. today at (612) 444-5020 to set up a time for your
free case evaluation at our office!