DWI License Revocation in Minnesota
What Happens to Your Driver’s License After a DWI Arrest
When you are
charged with DWI in Minnesota, two separate cases are opened: a criminal case and a civil
case. This means that, aside from prison time and fines, you could also
face the temporary loss of your driving privileges. The length of the
revocation will vary, depending on your criminal record, whether or not
you submitted to chemical testing, and/or the results of your chemical test.
If you refuse to take a chemical test once you’ve been arrested,
or your test results show a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater,
you will be issued a “Notice and Order of Revocation.” This
document will act as a temporary driver’s license for seven days—after
which your driving privileges will be fully suspended. For this reason,
you should call a Minneapolis DWI lawyer immediately.
The criminal defense attorneys at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A.
are available to take your call 24/7! Contact our office today at (612)
set up your FREE case evaluation.
License Revocation: First DWI Offense
BAC Under .16% – If your blood alcohol concentration was under .16%, your license can be
revoked for 90 days. After 15 days, you have the option to apply for a
BAC Over .16% – If your blood alcohol concentration was over .16% (aggravating factor),
your license can be revoked for one year. Your license plates may also
Refused Test – If you refuse to take a chemical test after being arrested for DWI, your
driver’s license can be revoked for one year. After 15 days, you
can apply for a limited license.
License Revocation: Second DWI Offense
BAC Under .16% – If your BAC was under .16%, but you have a prior DWI conviction, your driver’s
license can be revoked for up to one year. Your license plates may also
BAC Over .16% – If your BAC was over .16%, and you have a prior conviction, your license
can be revoked for two years. You may also face license plate impoundment and
Refused Test – If you are charged with
test refusal a second time, your driver’s license can be revoked for one year.
You may also face license plate impoundment and vehicle forfeiture.
You Only Have 30 Days to Challenge the Revocation
If you have been charged with DWI, you should know that you have the right
to contest the revocation of your driver’s license. After you have
received the Notice and Order of Revocation, you will have 30 days to
submit a written request for an implied consent hearing. This hearing
is optional, meaning that none will be held and the revocation will automatically
go into effect if you do not request one.
If you want to save your driver’s license, you should move quickly
to discuss your case with a Minneapolis DWI attorney at Caplan & Tamburino
Law Firm, P.A. We may be able to challenge the revocation by proving that
the arresting officer did not conduct a valid traffic stop, read the Implied
Consent Advisory before asking you to take a breath test, and/or follow
all necessary procedures.
Contact Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. for the aggressive representation you need!