Vehicle Forfeiture in Minnesota
Was Your Vehicle Seized After a DWI Arrest in Minneapolis?
Minnesota Statute § 169A.63, vehicle forfeiture can occur when a car is used to commit a criminal
act—which includes driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenses. This
means that, in certain DWI cases, the arresting agency has the authority
to seize and forfeit the motor vehicle that was used. If the vehicle is
not recovered by the owner, the agency has the right to sell it and keep
If your vehicle has been seized by the police, we encourage you to learn
more about your options by speaking to the Minneapolis DWI defense lawyers
at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A.
Here are five reasons why we should be your first call after a DWI arrest:
- We are available to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
- Both of our partners have experience as former prosecutors
- We have handled hundreds of jury trials throughout the state
- Our lead attorney is a board certified criminal law specialist
- We will start your case with a 100% free, no-obligation consult
DWI Offenses That Can Result in Vehicle Forfeiture
In Minnesota, your vehicle can be seized if you commit any of the following offenses:
- You are charged with your fourth DWI offense in 10 years (which is a felony).
- You are charged with your third DWI or test refusal offense in 10 years.
You are charged with your second DWI offense in 10 years, and:
- A child under the age of 16 was in the car; or
- You were driving with a BAC of .20% or higher.
- You are charged with DWI or test refusal while your license is under cancellation.
- You are charged with DWI while you have a B-Card restriction on your license.
You Only Have 30 Days to Request a Hearing
Once your vehicle has been seized by a law enforcement agency in Minnesota,
you will receive an administrative notice of vehicle forfeiture, also
known as “Notice of Seizure and Intent to Forfeit Vehicle.”
From this point, you will only have 30 days to file a demand for a judicial
determination of the forfeiture—which is a hearing to determine
the legal validity of a vehicle seizure and forfeiture.
You should also know that your vehicle can only be kept and sold if you
are convicted of the DWI offense for which you have been arrested, or
your driver’s license is revoked under the state’s implied
consent law. If you are able to defend yourself against the
DWI charge and license revocation, you can avoid the forfeiture of your vehicle.
This is why you should hire a skilled defense attorney.
We’re Available 24/7 – Call Our Minneapolis DWI Attorneys
If your vehicle was seized after a DWI arrest, it is imperative that you
contact a Minneapolis DWI lawyer at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A.
as soon as possible. You have a very short window of time to contest the
forfeiture, so timely action will be crucial. Our firm is ready to put
100+ years of collective criminal defense experience to work for you –
give us a call today to find out how we can help.
If your vehicle was seized, you need to act fast!
Call our firm 24/7 for your free consultation.