Many Minnesotans enjoy adult beverages while boating in the land of the 10,000 lakes; unfortunately, a boating while under the influence (BWI) charge can lead to severe consequences. In this blog post, we will look at the criminal penalties of a BWI conviction in Minnesota.
Minnesota BWI Charges
As stated on the Minnesota Statutes webpage, it is a crime for any person to operate or be in physical control of a motorboat in operation on any waters or boundary waters when he or she is under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or other intoxicating substances.
If an operator is accused of a boating while under the influence crime, he or she can face Minnesota charges ranging from misdemeanor to felony level. The level of offense will depend on a variety of factors such as blood alcohol concentration, whether an accident occurred, whether minor children were involved, and prior DWI/BWI related convictions.
First-Time BWI Penalties
If convicted of a first-time BWI charge in Minnesota, the maximum penalties include:
- A jail sentence of up to 90 days; or
- A fine of up to $1,000; or
- Both penalties.
Loss of Driving Privileges
In addition to criminal penalties, a person charged with a BWI can face administrative sanctions. For example, Minnesotans charged with a BWI could lose their driver’s licenses as well as their boating, ATV, and snowmobiling privileges.
Need Help With Your BWI?
If you or a loved one is criminally charged with a BWI, you’ll want experienced representation on your side. Caplan & Tamburino is an award-winning law firm that’s helped thousands of clients with their BWIs and other alcohol-related charges.
Call (612) 444-5020 now for a free consultation for your BWI charge!