To stay out of legal trouble, it’s important to understand what the age of consent is. In general, consent must be freely given, unequivocal, and uninhibited. If you’re unsure whether the person you’re with is within the age of consent, we recommend reading this blog to get a better understanding of who can and cannot consent to sexual conduct.
Age of Consent
In Minnesota, the age of consent is 16 years old. This means any child between the ages of 13 and 16 is allowed to legally consent to sex with anyone who is no more than two years older than them.
It’s essential to note that any adult engaging in sexual conduct with a minor who is four or more years younger than them can be charged with statutory rape in Minnesota. If a minor is under the age of 13, a person engaging in sexual conduct with them is also considered statutory rape.
Minnesota Statutory Rape Penalties
A person can be charged with first, second, third, or fourth-degree statutory rape in Minnesota. Penalties vary depending on the severity of the crime. A first-degree conviction can result in $40,000 in fines and up to 30 years in prison. A second-degree statutory rape charge can lead to up to 25 years in prison and up to $35,000 in fines. For third-degree charges, a person can face up to 15 years behind bars and $30,000 dollars in fines. Lastly, a fourth-degree conviction can lead to 10 years and $20,000 in fines. On top of that, a person convicted will be added to a sex offender registry.
For more information on the details of these charges, you can visit our blog on statutory rape here
We’re Here to Help
If you are currently facing statutory rape charges, you have the right to defend your freedom. Contact Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. so we can go over your case and figure out what your best options are. You shouldn’t have to deal with this alone.
Call us at (612) 444-5020 or fill out a consultation request form to get in touch with one of our attorneys today.