In the state of Minnesota, a misdemeanor is a crime that results in a 90-day or less sentence or a fine of up to $1,000, or both. These crimes are more serious than petty misdemeanors but aren’t as severe as gross misdemeanors. These types of offenses can add up.
Some of the top five most common misdemeanors in Minnesota include:
- Possession of controlled substances - It’s illegal to possess a controlled substance without a licensed physician’s prescription. Small amounts will most likely result in a gross misdemeanor.
- Driving under the influence - A first, second, or third DWI offense can be charged as a standard misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor depending on the aggravating factors. Every subsequent DWI offense within 10 years results in a more serious charge with harsher punishments.
- Theft - A charge for theft is all based on the value of what was stolen. More minor thefts, at $500 or less, will be charged as a misdemeanor. More serious thefts with higher values could be charged as a gross misdemeanor or felony.
- Trespassing - If a person is caught trespassing after receiving notice that entry is prohibited, they can be charged with a misdemeanor.
- Assault - This crime happens when a person intentionally causes bodily harm to another person.
Need Legal Assistance?
Here at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. we’re dedicated to providing our clients with the most professional advocacy in the state of Minnesota. If you or a loved one have recently been accused or convicted of crimes listed above, we may be able to assist you. In case you didn’t know, misdemeanors can be expunged from your record. To contact our firm, call us at (612) 444-5020 or fill out a consultation request form on our Contact Us page to get in touch with one of our criminal attorneys.