Minneapolis Underage DWI Attorney
Defending the Accused Throughout Minneapolis & St. Paul
Minnesota’s legal drinking age is 21, which means consumption of alcohol by anyone under 21 is unlawful except in private, non-alcohol-selling premises and with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Minnesota is also a zero-tolerance drunk driving state and has a “Not-a-Drop” law in place for minors. This means that if a driver under the age of 21 is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .00, they can be cited for underage DWI, or “driving while intoxicated.”
If your teen is facing DWI charges, we both know they can’t afford to lose. Convictions stay on their record forever, shaping employment opportunities for the rest of their lives. When your child’s future is on the line, turn to Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. for prompt and powerful legal assistance in Minneapolis.
Have you or your child been charged with underage DWI? Contact our firm today to discuss your case during a free consultation.
Understanding Minnesota’s Underage DWI Laws
Only 10 percent of licensed drivers are under the age of 21, yet they are responsible for 17 percent of all alcohol-related fatal crashes. Because underage drivers also tend to binge-drink more than adults, juvenile victims of car accidents on average have a blood alcohol content that is far above the legal limit.
Minnesota’s “Under 21” law prohibits underage drivers from the following:
- Drinking alcohol without parental permission and supervision
- Purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol
- Possessing alcohol with an intent to consume
- Misrepresenting one’s age to purchase alcohol
Types of Juvenile DWI Crimes in Minnesota
Violating the rules of Minnesota’s Under 21 statute is a misdemeanor and carries different penalties based on blood alcohol content and whether or not the driver has had previous convictions.
Under Minnesota law, juveniles may be charged with one of two DWI offenses:
- Not-a-Drop: Because of Minnesota’s “Not-a-Drop” law, minors can be charged with a DWI If there is any amount of alcohol in their body while driving, meaning that they have a BAC below .08. Violating this law is a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $1,000, up to 90 days of jail time, and up to 90 days of license suspension. Second-time offenders will face a 180-day license suspension and additional penalties.
- Full DWI: Underage drivers with a BAC over the legal limit of .08 will be treated as adults if they are 16 or older. If convicted for a first-time offense, they will be subject to full DWI penalties, including imprisonment for 90 days or more, a fine of up to $3,000, and a license suspension of 180 days (or 360 days if they had another minor in the car.) Additionally, underage drivers may lose their auto insurance policies, or they may face increased premiums that will stay with them for up to five years.
Underage drivers also run the risk of being charged with other related crimes, including:
- Distributing alcohol to minors
- Soliciting alcohol
- Child endangerment
- Minor in possession
- Possession of false ID
Trusted Criminal Defense Representation for Juvenile DWI Crimes
If your child is facing DWI charges, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. The charges they face now could have a negative effect on their futures. Make sure you do all that you can to protect your child’s future by retaining the sound legal counsel of attorneys who are familiar with Minnesota law and who know how to best handle juvenile crimes cases.
What sets us apart from the rest:
- Our team is available 24/7. When our clients need us, we’re there for them.
- Both of our partners have formerly worked as prosecutors in Minnesota.
- We have represented thousands of clients and handled hundreds of jury trials.
- We have more than 100 years of criminal defense experience.
- Attorneys Joseph Tamburino and Jill Brisbois are Board Certified Criminal Law Specialists.
- When you call, we’ll start your case with a FREE, no-obligation consultation.
Together, our Minneapolis attorneys bring over 100 years of criminal defense experience to the table. We have also represented thousands of clients and led hundreds of court trials, including acquittals and dismissals in juvenile DUI cases. Clients know they can count on us to fight for them relentlessly and aggressively. All you need to do is share the facts with us, and we can handle the rest.
We are the seasoned DUI attorneys your teenager needs. To contact Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A., please call our office at (612) 444-5020.
Client Testimonial - Josh
Josh came to the firm seeking help with a ...
Client Testimonial - Dave
Dave came to the firm seeking legal guidance for ...
Client Testimonial - Cheryl
Cheryl has complete confidence in the dedication ...