Sex Offender Registration in Minnesota
Don’t Let a Conviction Ruin Your Reputation
Were you arrested for a sex crime in Minnesota? If so, your freedom, future, and reputation could be at risk. Not only could a conviction lead to costly fines and time in prison, but you may also be required to register as a sex offender once you are released. For this reason, it would be wise to contact a Minneapolis sex crime attorney from Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. as soon as possible.
With more than 100 years of criminal defense experience, our team is well-equipped to provide the aggressive representation you need. We have handled hundreds of jury trials throughout the state, earning us recognition from prestigious organizations like Super Lawyers® and The National Trial Lawyers. Not to mention, both of our partners have experience as former state prosecutors.
If accused of a sex crime, now is the time to act. Call us 24/7 for a free consult!
Offenses that Require Sex Offender Registration
- Criminal sexual conduct (first to fourth degree)
- Felony indecent exposure
- Possession of child pornography
- Soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution
- Soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct
- False imprisonment of a minor
- First degree murder and kidnapping
How Long Are Sex Offenders Required to Register?
In Minnesota, convicted sex offenders are required to register for a minimum of 10 years. However, if a person is sentenced to probation for longer than 10 years, they will be required to register for the duration of their probation. For individuals that have committed aggravated offenses, been convicted of repeat sex offenses, or been deemed “sexual predators,” lifetime registration will be required.
What are the Consequences of Failing to Register?
If you have been required to register as a sex offender, you should know that non-compliance could result in serious consequences. Each conviction for a failure to register violation will result in five additional years of sex offender registration. First-time convictions may also result in a one-year prison sentence. For subsequent convictions, you could face a minimum prison sentence of two years.
You could be charged with a failure to register offense if you:
- Fail to initially register as a sex offender or submit the proper verification forms
- Fail to report changes to your primary address, employment, school, or vehicles
- Enter Minnesota to live, work, or attend school and fail to register with local authorities
- Visit Minnesota for longer than 14 days and fail to register with local authorities
Call Our Minneapolis Sex Crime Defense Lawyers 24/7
Whether you have been arrested for a sex crime or charged with a failure to register violation, it is important to act quickly. The Minneapolis sex crime lawyers at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. are ready to put nearly a century of legal experience to work for you – all you have to do is call. We are available to discuss your case 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so don’t wait to contact our firm!
Learn more about your options by filling out a free case evaluation form today.