Statutory Rape We're available 24/7. Call us at 612-444-5020.

Minneapolis Statutory Rape Attorney

Accused of Having Sex with a Minor? Call Us Today!

In Minnesota, allegations of statutory rape are no less serious than forcible rape. If you have been charged with first, second, third, or fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct as a result of statutory rape allegations, it is crucial that you retain the help of a Minneapolis sex crime attorney immediately.

Backed by 100+ years of experience and a long history of trial success, Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm, P.A. can provide the aggressive criminal defense you need. We are available to take your call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so please don’t wait to discuss your case with a member of our team.

Four Reasons Why We Should Be Your Next Call:

  • We take calls 24/7 – we’ll be there when you need us
  • Our defense lawyers have handled hundreds of jury trials
  • We offer representation from former state prosecutors
  • We have been defending our clients’ right since 1983

If you have been charged with a sex crime, your future, freedom, and reputation are on the line. Don’t wait – call our Minneapolis statutory rape lawyers today.

How Age Factors Into Statutory Rape Cases

In Minnesota, the “age of consent” is 16. This means that a minor cannot legally consent to sex until they have reached the age of 16. However, state law does make certain exceptions when the age difference between the parties is relatively small. This means that the severity of your sex crime charges could be determined by the age difference between you and the alleged victim.

Fourth Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct

You could be charged with fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct if you have any sort of sexual contact with a minor, short of penetration.

More specifically, this applies to sexual contact with:

  • A minor under the age of 13, and you are no more than three years older
  • A minor between the age of 13 and 16, and you are no more than four years older
  • A minor between the age of 16 and 18, and you are in a position of authority

Fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct is punishable by 10 years in prison and $20,000 in fines.

Third Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct

You could be charged with third-degree criminal sexual conduct if you engage in sexual penetration with a minor (which includes oral or anal sex).

This applies to sexual penetration with:

  • A minor under the age of 13, and you are no more than three years older
  • A minor between the age of 13 and 16, and you are no more than two years older
  • A minor under the age of 18, and you are in a position of authority and four years older

Third-degree criminal sexual conduct is punishable by 15 years in prison and $30,000 in fines.

Second Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct

You could be charged with second-degree criminal sexual conduct if you engage in sexual contact, short of penetration, with a minor.

More specifically, this applies to sexual contact with:

  • A minor under the age of 13, and you are more than three years older
  • A minor under the age of 16, and you are in a position of authority and four years older
  • A minor under the age of 16, and you have a “significant relationship” to them

Second-degree criminal sexual conduct is punishable by 25 years in prison and $35,000 in fines.

If you have been accused of statutory rape, call us immediately for a free consultation.

What Our Clients Are Saying

Watch Our Video Testimonials
  • Client Testimonial - Josh

    Josh came to the firm seeking help with a ...

  • Client Testimonial - Dave

    Dave came to the firm seeking legal guidance for ...

  • Client Testimonial - Cheryl

    Cheryl has complete confidence in the dedication ...

/

Why Choose Us?

  • We’ll start your case with a FREE, no-obligation consultation
  • Attorneys Joseph Tamburino & Jill Brisbois are Board Certified Criminal Law Specialists, achieved by only 3% of Attorneys
  • We have represented thousands of clients and we have handled hundreds of jury trials
  • Our attorneys have worked as prosecutors and public defenders throughout the state
  • Our team is available 24/7 – when our clients need us, we’re there for them

Book a Free Consultation 

We are available to speak with you 24/7. Don't hesitate to call us at (612) 444-5020 or fill out the form below. 
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.